THE ADVISOR

High moral and ethical standards are essential to assure the trust, respect, and confidence of the people of Alaska.



SELECT COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE ETHICS

NOVEMBER 2023

Welcome New Ethics Committee Administrator Tamara Maddox



The Select Committee on Legislative Ethics is pleased to announce the hire of Tamara Maddox as the new Ethics Committee Administrator. Her first day was Monday, October 30, 2023. Joyce Anderson is contracted to assist Ms. Maddox in transition, and her contract will likely end sometime in February 2024.

Ms. Maddox's regulatory background will help her excel as the ethics administrator. Previously, Ms. Maddox worked for the Alaska Oil & Gas Association as the regulatory and legal affairs manager, after serving as an associate attorney at the Alaska Public Offices Commission. Her diverse experience evaluating government actions and initiatives, interpreting complex rules and regulations, investigating violations, and working in a non-partisan environment has significantly prepared her for the role.

Ms. Maddox received her Juris Doctor from Seattle University School of Law and a Bachelor of Science in political science from Fayetteville State University in North Carolina. She grew up in Anchorage, and she is eager to meaningfully serve her community in this important role.

Ethics Committee Alternate Public Member Vacancy

Do you know someone interested in serving as an alternate public member on the Ethics Committee? Public members are selected by the Chief Justice of the Alaska Supreme Court and ratified by two thirds of the full membership of the legislature. Public members serve a three-year term.

Interested persons may apply to serve by December 31, 2023. Send a letter of interest, your resume, and your political affiliation on file with the Alaska Division of Elections to The Honorable Peter Maassen, Alaska Supreme Court, 303 K St., Anchorage, AK 99501. Learn more about the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics at http://ethics.akleg.gov/.

There is no such thing as the perfect solution. Every solution, no matter how good, creates new problems.

Committee Members

Skip Cook, Chair Deb Fancher

Jerry McBeath Conner Thomas

Sen Gary Stevens Sen Löki Tobin

Rep DeLena Johnson Rep Sara Hannan

Ethics Office

Tamara Maddox, Administrator Joyce Anderson, Consultant Jacqui Yeagle, Staff

Phone 907-269-0150

Email Ethics.Committee@akleg.gov